Week That Was–3/31/2012

Don’t look now, but we are officially 1/4 of the way through 2012!

I hope your year is going well thus far. Anyone still keeping up with their New Year’s Resolution? Anyone even remember what their resolution was? I’m proud to say I’m ahead of the required pace for mine. For those of you that weren’t with me in January, I resolved to log 728 miles running for 2012, which is an average of 14 miles per week. As of 3/31, I have gone 203.25. I’m ahead of schedule, but I’m a little nervous of June, July, and August in central Florida. It gets a bit warm for logging miles in the summer, so we will see how it goes. If you’ve lost track of your resolution, or never made one to begin with, I’d encourage you to make a health improvement goal and start now. Make it for April (it’s only 30 days) and who knows, it might stick. I’d love to hear about any resolutions you’ve kept, or decided to restart, in the comments. Sometimes, making the resolution public really helps you stick to it. I think that’s a big part of my 200+ miles to date.

I’d like to thank everyone who nominated/voted for me in Crabby McSlacker’s list of top health, fitness, and weight loss blogs. Y’all got out and voted en masse, and we ended up the top vote getter. While I’m honored to have made the list, I’m not vain enough to think that I’ve got anywhere near the best blog out there. But I try my best.

Anyway, if you found my blog from that list, I hope you’ll subscribe via email or rss/bookmark the page/add it to whatever blog reader you use and share it with your friends. And do yourself a favor and check out some of the other blogs on Crabby’s list, because there are some excellent ones listed there, I promise.

Alright. On to the list of health related stories that caught my eye this week. Check out the ones that look interesting to you!

For Athletes, Aging can be a Pain

Half of US Cancer Cases are Preventable

Are These Common Foods Causing Your Allergies?

Obesity, Inactivity Raise Cancer Risk

Bringing Your Dog to Work Could Help to Lower Stress

Have a great rest of your Sunday guys. I’ll have another new post tomorrow outlining my plan for April, and another installment in the strength training series later in the week.

Until then, be healthy y’all.

2 Comments

Filed under Weeks That Were

2 responses to “Week That Was–3/31/2012

  1. Congrats on your first place finish! You’ve got a great blog here, and are clearly a great motivator!

    Off to check on some of your other links…

Leave a Reply

