Where’s the Wheat? Monthly Mission April 2012

20120402-201655.jpg

Photo by Dave Pullig via Flickr

This month’s mission is going to be tough, no doubt about it.

For April, I’m cutting all wheat and wheat products from my diet.

Seeing as my favorite nights in the college cafeteria were bread night and the annual Flapjack Fling, you can imagine how tough this month will be for me. But with all the talk about caveman diets and the paleo movement, I think it’ll give me a good base for offering honest advice for people if they have questions about these diets. But it’ll be tough, no question.

The genesis of this month’s mission is the book Wheat Belly, which was written by Dr. William Davis. I’m not yet completely through the book, but from what I’ve read (over half of the book) the phrase “healthy whole grains” isn’t 100% accurate. Especially if you are already overweight, pre-diabetic, or diabetic. Dr. Davis also makes the claim, and I more or less agree with him, that modern wheat has been so bastardized by hybridization, that we struggle to digest it. And that struggle causes out blood sugar to sky rocket and fat to be stored around our mid sections–hence wheat belly.

Luckily, or maybe not so much, y’all will be able to go on this journey with me. I’ll be devoting about a post per week to how this monthly mission is progressing, and addressing any changes I notice in myself that may be attributed to the wheat withholding. So whether it’s energy level, bowel function, weight loss, or anything else, be ready to have a front row seat to how going wheat-less affects me for the next 30 days. I’ll also be keeping up with my typical physical activity level, to see how this lack of wheat affects my running.

Starting Point

  • According to my less than trusty bathroom scale, I am currently topped out at about 168 lbs in just some workout shorts.
  • My current waist circumference is 33 1/2 inches, and my hip circumference is 39 1/4 inches. That gives me a waist-to-hip ratio of 0.853, which isn’t great but puts me solidly in the ‘normal’ category.
  • Currently, my main form of exercise is running, and I’m averaging 15-18 miles per week. I also do some body weight exercises and light weight/theraband exercises focusing on general overall strength 4-5 days per week.

Hopefully, you’ll enjoy this journey down the road of wheatlessness that I’m about to go on. I’m actually looking forward to seeing how it goes. It’ll be tough, but I’m confident I’ll behave.

Any of you guys go out of your way to avoid wheat and wheat products? Do you do it just because, or do you have a wheat allergy or Celiac’s disease? I’d love to hear what your experiences have been.

19 Comments

Filed under Monthly Mission, Nutrition

19 responses to “Where’s the Wheat? Monthly Mission April 2012

  1. Brenda McNeil

    Will be interested in hearing how this works for you! Not an easy thing to do if you really like bread. Take a look at Deliciously Organic. com – she has some pretty good recipes. Also Elana’s Pantry.com. Good luck!

  2. Tammy

    Wow. Interesting articles. I would love to try this too! My weight is at 157.8 right now and I am not having much success at losing weight. I have just started back running again – but from what I have ready, the exercise won’t do a whole lot of good unless I make other significant dietary changes.

    • Tammy–

      Exercise is great, there are no questions about that. But it’s easy to undo all the good you do when you work out if you struggle in the kitchen. Best of luck with the running, and if I can help with any encouragement, insights, or info, don’t hesitate to ask!

  3. My nickname used to be “Bread” when I was a kid. I’m sure you can guess why. About a year ago I started cutting back on carbs in general, and that’s when I realized how much the stuff had been bloating me. Gah! I refuse to bloat, so I keep all breadiness (even whole grain types) to a minimum. Not worth to me anymore.

  4. Pingback: Monthly Mission–The Genesis | DK FitSolutions

  5. atin1976

    Most people mistake a ‘bad carbs’ elimination diet from a ketogenic (extremely low-carb) diet which could be fatal in the long run. This strategy effectively restrict yours intake of the most nutrient-dense foods on the planet—vegetables and fruits. As a holistic weight loss doctor from Mumbai, I always remind my patients that Carb intake level is the decisive factor in your weight-loss success or failure, and excessive carb consumption is arguably the most destructive behavior disparity between ourselves and what our genes crave to support health, longevity, and peak performance. Eliminating bad carbs viz. grains and sugars from your diet could be the number one most beneficial thing you ever do for your health!

    • I totally agree about the idea that eliminating bad carbs might be the best thing to do. The problem is that the US government has lifted grains onto the pedestal as being super healthy, though I’m not sure the facts back that idea up.

  6. Pingback: Wheat Free April Progress Report I | DK FitSolutions

  7. Pingback: Confession Time | DK FitSolutions

  8. Pingback: Wheat Free April Progress Report II | DK FitSolutions

  9. donna krahe

    nice to know you’re less gasy… 😉

  10. Pingback: Do You Have Wheat Belly? | Enlightened Opportunities

  11. Pingback: Wheat Free for Three Months… Any Effects? | DK FitSolutions

  12. Pingback: Vacation Damage Control–Diet and Exercise Edition | DK FitSolutions

  13. Pingback: Gut Check–Monthly Mission June 2013 | DK FitSolutions

  14. Pingback: The Problem with Cereal–Monthly Mission January 2014 | DK FitSolutions

Leave a Reply

