Wheat Free April Progress Report I

Well it’s been about a week and a half since I cut all wheat products from my diet.

It actually hasn’t been as difficult as I thought it would be, at least so far, but I have noticed one big change.

Craving Sweets–I started to noticably crave sweets within a day or two of dropping the wheat. And by sweets, I mostly mean ice cream. I’ve been putting away too much of the frosty treat in the past 10 days, and for the rest of the month I’m going to try to reel in my sugar cravings. My plan is to get a bunch of fresh fruit tomorrow, and try to use that as a better way to ease the cravings.

Other than the overly sensitive sweet tooth, I haven’t really noticed many other changes. No bowel issues, energy levels have stayed consistent, and exercise performance hasn’t varied. I also thought I was going to have a hard time feeling full when I started this mission, and that hasn’t been the case at all. In fact, I’d say I’ve actually eaten less food overall than I had been while still eating wheat.

The Monthly Mission continues for another couple of weeks, and I’ll have another post or two in that time keeping you abreast of any new developments.

The only adjustments I’m going to try and implement will be trading the ice cream for fresh fruit and also to eat more vegetables daily. Salads, veggies and dip/hummus, sautéed, etc.

I’ll keep you posted on the progress, but so far so good.

Have any of you ever gone wheat free for any amount of time? I’d love to hear how you did it!

7 Comments

Filed under Monthly Mission

7 responses to “Wheat Free April Progress Report I

  1. Heah Denny, IIRC your main staple are endurance activities and you write that your exercise performance has remained constant. What I’d be interested in is: did you substitute wheat products for other forms of carbohydrates? Or, in other words, would you consider your current nutrition low carb?

    • Evil–

      Great question. I would not classify my diet as particularly low carb, though I’m certainly taking in fewer this month than when I was eating wheat products. This month, I am eliminating wheat only, but I’m still eating fruits, potatoes rice, etc, just no products with wheat. And like I mentioned in my post, copious amounts of ice cream.

      And while I’ve seen no drop off in running performance, I have not run very long distances recently since its wicked hot right now in Florida. I think the longest I’ve done in the past month or so is 4-4.5 miles. If I stick with this no wheat idea long term, which I’m kind of leaning towards right now, it’ll be interesting to see how I do while training and racing longer distances ie half and full marathon mileage.

  2. Tammy

    Hello !

    Have you noticed any change in your weight since you started the wheat free challenge?

    • Tammy–

      I’ve probably lost a pound or two, but overall my weight has been fluctuating right around 170 since I started. But to be honest, I haven’t weighed myself under the same conditions as I did at the start of the month, but I will at the end of the month when I wrap this mission.

  3. Pingback: Wheat Free April Progress Report II | DK FitSolutions

  4. Pingback: Wheat Free for Three Months… Any Effects? | DK FitSolutions

Leave a Reply

