***UPDATE*** Gumby I’m Not–Monthly Mission May 2012

20120501-205844.jpg

Image By bitshaker via Flickr

Being super stretchy has been a benefit to a number of “people”. Gumby, Stretch Armstrong, and Mrs. Incredible have all used their hyper mobility as an asset.

Granted, they aren’t real people, but still.

Plenty of real people also benefit from being super flexible. Dancers, contortionists, athletes, and acrobats are just some of the real life examples of people that require a high degree of flexibility to excel in their professions.

20120501-205857.jpg

Image By eviltomthai via Flickr

It’s a good thing I don’t have any of those jobs.

In fact, as someone who knows many of the injury prevention and performance enhancing benefits of pliable muscle and connective tissues, you’d think I would be the last person who would need to dedicate a Monthly Mission towards flexibility improvements.

And you’d be wrong.

I’ve seen people with worse flexibility than me, but there’s not too many of them around. And when I work with clients to improve their flexibility, I’m quick to point out how hypocritical I’m being since I am in fact incredibly inflexible.

Hopefully, that’s about to change.

This month, I will be dedicating a minimum of 15 minutes per day to stretching and doing myofacial release on a foam roller. Now 15 minutes per day may not sound like much, but for someone who stretches less than 15 minutes most weeks it’ll take a commitment.

To get in the required stretching, I’ll be mixing in some yoga, static and dynamic stretching, and foam rolling on a daily basis. And while I stretch a little bit here and there at work, I won’t count those few minutes toward my daily quota.

So, here goes nothing.

31 days of stretching starts today.

What are you doing for your Monthly Mission this month? Let me know!

***UPDATE***

So I had a little trouble this month with my mission. But you know what? It happens. And when it happens, you need to accept it and move on.

For me, I think the stretching plan were pretty much shot less than a week into the month.

I failed.

But like I’ve said all along, that is one of the beautiful aspects of the monthly mission. I sucked this month, but I’ve got a new mission ready to go starting tomorrow.

And I WILL NOT fail two months in a row.

Check back tomorrow to see what my new mission will be, and let me know what you’re planning on doing to make yourself healthier at the end of June than you are at the beginning of it.

11 Comments

Filed under Monthly Mission

11 responses to “***UPDATE*** Gumby I’m Not–Monthly Mission May 2012

  1. I love this idea! This month my mission is to successfully complete my first month of running my blog and facebook page. I have set out on a mission to help others live a healthy lifestyle, here we go! I look forward to following your blog!

    • Nicole–

      Thanks for taking the time to check out my blog. If there are ever any topics you’d be interested in me covering, please feel free to offer suggestions!

      And best of luck to you on your monthly mission. Some months are tougher than others, but perseverance is the key.

  2. Woo stretching! I looooooove stretching. And 15 minutes a day can make a HUGE difference! I’m sure you’ve already noticed some improvements. My muscles feel much more sore when I don’t stretch on a regular basis.

    • Sigh. I wish I could say I was seeing some improvement, but I’ve been dropping the ball on my stretching. Just goes to show that everyone can set some goals that they end up missing. But I’ll have a new plan for something next month, and hopefully I’ll do a bit better.

  3. Pingback: Open the Floodgates–Monthly Mission June 2012 | DK FitSolutions

  4. Pingback: Open the Floodgates–Monthly Mission June 2012 | DK FitSolutions

  5. Pingback: Monthly Mission–The Genesis | DK FitSolutions

Leave a Reply

