Enough is Enough–No More High Fructose Corn Syrup

October is here, now if only the weather would start to cool down a little bit.

In some parts of the country, the leaves are changing and the feeling of fall present. In Florida, highs are still in the 80s and summer is going nowhere. Hopefully we will cool off soon, but I won’t be holding my breathe.

The start of a new month also means its time for a new Monthly Mission.

For this month, I feel like I’m stepping it up a notch. This October, I’ll be doing everything in my power to completely eliminate High Fructose Corn Syrup from my diet.

High Fructose Corn Syrup is in so many products that we consume on a very regular basis that it can seem almost impossible to get away from it. Almost any processed sweet product has corn syrup in it, from the obvious things like candies and cookies to the less obvious items like the syrup in your morning Starbucks fix.

No question entirely removing it will be difficult, but I really think its doable.

The easiest way to succeed this month will be just trying to limit processed foods as much as possible and reading labels on any processed foods.

But as long as I keep making most of my meals at home using real ingredients, skipping the corn syrup won’t be too difficult at all.

What about you guys? Any monthly mission plans for this October? Let me know what you’re trying down in the comments!

9 Comments

Filed under Monthly Mission

9 responses to “Enough is Enough–No More High Fructose Corn Syrup

  1. Pingback: Monthly Mission–The Genesis | DK FitSolutions

  2. Pingback: There’s Mercury in High Fructose Corn Syrup, and the FDA Has Known for Years « My Son Hates Corn Syrup

  3. Pingback: Surprising Products That Contain High Fructose Corn Syrup « My Son Hates Corn Syrup

  4. Pingback: Hidden Dangers: Foods with High Fructose Corn Syrup « My Son Hates Corn Syrup

  5. chicagogirl

    We just started The Biggest Loser contest at work. I’ve been watching my sugar intake for about a week now, and have lost 3 pounds. Sugar is my addiction, so my goal for the whole program, not just the month, is to eliminate as much sugar from my diet as I can…by, as you suggest, eating whole foods, as little as possible processed foods, checking out the labels, switching from McDonald’s Mocha Frappe (large, at 600 calories a pop!) to Green Tea, oatmeal for breakfast, almonds and raw veggies for my daily snacks, and lots of veggies, beans and fish for dinner. So far, I feel great…no lethargy, headaches, moodiness. One of the best parts, tho, is that I’m not feeling deprived. I’m excited!

    • Good luck with your contest at work! That type of contest can be a really great source of motivation.

      It sounds like you have a great plan by limiting your sugar intake, and if you’re not feeling deprived you are setting yourself up for success! Just remember, if at some point you struggle and end up indulging, just accept it and get back to your healthier plan. One bad day of eating doesn’t matter too much in the grand scheme of things, as long as you don’t let a bad day turn into a bad week, month, year, etc.

  6. Al natural, like you said. I must confess that I don’t like too much of anything, so every so often I go for chinese or pizza, but mostly everything natural.

  7. Pingback: Corn Syrup is the First ingredient in my baby’s formula. « My Son Hates Corn Syrup

Leave a Reply

