A Run a Day Keeps the Doctor Away–Monthly Mission March 2013

While I haven’t posted on this blog about my running much this year, I have been grinding out some miles.

20130301-165121.jpg

Image by esbjorn2 via Flickr

And for March’s Monthly Mission, I’m taking my running to the next level.

I don’t think I’ve ever run more than 3-4 days in a row before, but this month I’ll be running daily. For the next 31 days, I’ll be logging some amount of mileage come hell or high water. Every day won’t be a long or fast run, but every day will see me running a minimum of 1 mile.

I’m not sure what to expect from this month, but as long as I emerge from it injury free, I’ll be able to call it a success. I’m a little nervous about not giving my body any rest days from the pounding, but I’ll do my best to vary my routes and my intensity every day.

And maybe I’ll even force myself to do a little treadmill time this month *gag*. Needless to say, any treadmill days will be of the 1 mile variety.

So what about you? Will you join me by pursuing your own Monthly Mission for March? It doesn’t have to be running everyday, either. Just something that will help improve your health. Feel free to check out some of my other Monthly Mission posts if you need any ideas.

And please, leave me a comment letting me know what you’ll be doing for the next 31 days!

 

13 Comments

Filed under Monthly Mission

13 responses to “A Run a Day Keeps the Doctor Away–Monthly Mission March 2013

  1. kat

    Great blog. Thought I would give a little word of encouragement with the “run a day” idea which is to say, I doubt very much whether our prehistoric relations took days off when they lived, hunting, being hunted…:)

  2. An apple and a run a day = king of the world lol

  3. Mmm I can’t run always get shin splints – I will leave it to you

  4. Thanks for the “mission” for March. I don’t really run to run so to speak. I play basketball three days a week for 2 hours, and then walk several rounds of golf. What’s amazing to me is how hard you have to work to really workout with all the “other” exercises people do, when running would do the same in less than 30 minutes a day. You provided me some motivation to slip in a run to two each week just to vary my routine — Owen

    • Owen–

      Glad to give you the motivation! A run now and again is good, and as long as you’re staying active with basketball and any other activities, a little run is a nice change up. Keep checking back to see what April’s monthly mission will be, and for a recap of some of the missions I’ve done in the past months, check out the post on the creation of monthly missions.

      • That was indeed a great post. I totally agree with your assessment of number three. Yes, everything done for an entire year is too much. But break it down month by month … much more manageable. I am interested in your decision to give up wheat. I don’t eat much wheat myself but I do enjoy it from time to time. I’m glad I found your site and will continue to come back often. I may even respond to a comment or two if it makes sense. Cheers

      • Looking forward to more comments from you, Owen. Take care.

        Denny

  5. Thanks for the inspiration! I can’t manage a run every day but I like the idea of having a daily exercise goal. For me, a brisk walk at lunch works well and helps get me through the afternoon.

    • Sally–

      The trick is to pick something that will be challenging but that is ultimately attainable. There were definitely days in March that I did not want to run, but I knew I could do it and I did. Hope you’re able to pick a Monthly Mission for April, and that you are able to do what it takes to be successful!

      All the best.
      Denny

  6. Pingback: Monthly Mission–The Genesis | DK FitSolutions

Leave a Reply

