The 8-Hour Diet–Monthly Mission May 2013

Can you believe it’s May already?

2013 is flying by for me at least, and the start of a new month means that it’s time for a new Monthly Mission.

This month I’m going to try something that I’ve been thinking about for a little while.

There are no shortage of different diet trick and gimmicks out there that all manner of experts swear by, just to be refuted but another group of experts. I’ve tried some from time to time, but I’m not really interested it most diets. If you’ve followed me for awhile, you know that I strongly believe in eating real food and limiting as much processed and pre-made crap as possible. And it is this belief that makes me question a lot of diets that restrict different foods or food groups.

This month, however, I am trying a different eating plan. I will be following the 8-Hour Diet for the duration of this month, with the possibility of continuing it past the month of May. I started reading the book on the 8-Hour Diet a few days ago, and while I haven’t finished it the authors have made a lot of interesting claims about the benefits of the diet. I’m looking forward to reading more in the coming days.8 hour diet

The premise of the 8-Hour Diet is to only eat during an 8 hour window each day, and to fast the other 16 hours. According to the book, the health benefits of intermittent fasting can be realized by adhering to the diet for as few as 3 days a week.

I’ll give it a shot for the month, and see how it goes.

Have any of you tried or read the 8-Hour Diet before? What are your thoughts?

What are you doing for your Monthly Mission this month?

13 Comments

Filed under Monthly Mission

13 responses to “The 8-Hour Diet–Monthly Mission May 2013

  1. I’ll have to try that 8 hour diet…looks interesting.

    • It’s been a little easier than I thought it would be so far, but it’s only been a few days. Will have to see how it goes as the month continues.

  2. I have been following the 5/2 diet (500 calories 2 days/eat normally on the other 5) and have found it to work well. I’m all for fasting, mostly due to the healthy aging benefits – with weight loss and maintenance being a welcome side effect 😉 Great to see another variation of a ‘fasting’ diet. Good luck with it.

    • I’m kind of new to the fasting scene, but I’m doing ok with it so far. Like you, I’m not as concerned with the weight loss angle as I am with some of the possible cognitive benefits for down the road. I had two grandparents that had Alzheimer’s, so any thing I can do that may help prevent me from having that I’m willing to try.

  3. I look forward to hearing more of your results on this diet. I like the idea of it, fasting has always intrigued me, but did not think I could stay away from food for that long.
    I definitely will get this book. I feel like I could follow a fasting diet like that, since you only have to make it 16 hours without food. Thank you for sharing

    • Jenny–

      It’s definitely a lot more doable only having to fast for 16 hours at a time, especially if you are asleep for 7 or 8 of those hours. So far, it’s been going well and it’s actually been a lot easier than I thought it would be not having breakfast until noon. But I’ll keep you posted as the month progresses.

  4. Amy

    After many months trying to eat within 15 mins of getting up to keep my blood sugar level I am going back to skipping breakfast some mornings and I actually feel better. I look forward to hearing more of your experience.

    • It’s been good so far. Planning on keeping it up after this month is over, though I will probably not be as rigid about it for certain occasions and what not.

  5. nice Article .. very interesting .. I like the idea of it ..

  6. Bec

    I totally agree with you. The best diet you can be on in one that cuts out the crap and focuses on nutrient-dense whole foods. Having said that, my P.T has been encouraging me to try I.F for a while… will have to give this book a read and get another persons perspective on it. Looking forward to reading your updates as you do the 8 hour diet.

  7. Pingback: The 8-Hour Diet Recap | DK FitSolutions

Leave a Reply

