Stop Being Miserable-Find Enjoyment Instead

My best friend got married over the weekend, and I am so happy for him and his new wife. They’ve been dating forever, the ceremony was great, and they are now off enjoying their honeymoon in Costa Rica. Happiness truly abounds.

Zach and Katie

Zach and Katie

I have enjoyed having this guy in my life for the past decade, and while we don’t live as close now as we used to when he lived a few doors away in the dorm, I know we will always have a special bond and relationship.

Which makes it all the more awkward that I was so miserable at their reception.

To be clear, my misery had nothing to do with the bride and groom or anything that they did. I’m just not much of a go out, be with lots of people, in a room with music playing so loud that you have to shout to converse with anyone sitting next to you, kind of person.

And when I’m in an environment where all of those things are happening simultaneously, I have a hard time enjoying myself.

Sometimes, You Just Have to Power Through

So wedding receptions aren’t really my thing. But supporting a great friend at the start the newest chapter of his life is, so I’m glad I went and got to be there for him on his wedding day.

I gladly left my comfort zone and entered into the realm of being miserable on this occasion.

In fact, there are many other things that we do on a regular basis that we may not particularly enjoy, or look forward to, but when it’s all said and done we just have to suck it up and do whatever needs to be done. Things like:

  • Going to work.
  • Going to the dentist.
  • Disciplining your children.
  • Walking the dog when it’s raining.

Some are worse than others, but the list goes on and on. While the events may never get easier or more enjoyable, you just have to power through the task at hand.

You Don’t Always Have to be Miserable

Image by Jo Jakeman via Flickr

Image by Jo Jakeman via Flickr

Then there are the things that we do, that we may not exactly enjoy, but we do anyway even though we have options to make the situation better.

Exercise immediately comes to mind. I don’t know how many times I’ve heard people say that they would exercise more if they liked doing it. When I meet with new clients, one of the questions I make sure to ask is what exercises do you like and what do you not like. Because if you’re doing things that you enjoy, you’re much more likely to keep doing them.

Too many people look at physical activity as torture, or as something that they just HAVE to do, instead of looking at it as a way of having fun and improving their life and their health at the same time.

So if you’re not enjoying yourself while you are being active, why not try doing something else?

I have come to really love running, but many of my clients don’t. So guess what, we don’t do much running! There are plenty of other ways to torch body fat, tone up loose areas, and build strength that don’t require pounding the pavement for miles on end.

Try a Monthly Mission challenge. Go for a bike ride. Or swim laps. Start lifting weights or join a rec league for basketball or tennis. Or just find some other offering that you enjoy that is available to you where you live.

There are so many options out there for you to stay physically active, that you have no excuse for regularly CHOOSING to do something that makes you miserable. Find something you like to do, and enjoy yourself while you are being active.

Exercise is important for so many reasons, but make sure that the exercises you are doing are fun and make you want to do them, and not only will you be healthier but you’ll be happier as well.

Stay healthy my friends.

And congrats on the wedding guys! Welcome to the married people club. Love you.

Do YOU regularly do exercises that you enjoy? Or do you dread your workouts? How do you make working out more enjoyable?

2 Comments

Filed under Lifestlye, Physical Activities

2 responses to “Stop Being Miserable-Find Enjoyment Instead

  1. If I’m very tired ill do joint mobility work and that will make me feel better!

    • Exactly! Do something today, even if it’s not as much as you’d normally do, and you’ll probably feel better the next day. And if you can do something that you enjoy, even better!

Leave a Reply

