Sweatin’ the Small Stuff–Monthly Mission July 2013

As we start the 2nd half of 2013, it’s a great time to check on how you are doing with your health goals/resolutions for the year.

Image from Creative Motion Design Website

Image from Creative Motion Design Website

If you’re like most people, you haven’t thought about you New Year’s Resolution in the last 5 months.

I’m batting about 50% for my resolutions this year. I planned on focusing on three areas of my business to help it grow during 2013: add group training sessions, improve blog quality, and take the leap of faith to quit my day job to work at DK FitSolutions full time.

The first two items on my list have been so-so. I’ve done a few group sessions, but those types of appointments haven’t become a regular source of business at this point. And if you follow my blog, I hope you feel the quality of my posts has improved but I have posted so infrequently that I can’t call this item a success.

The third point, however, has been a great! I left my former employer at the end of February, and haven’t looked back since. Things haven’t always been easy, and I’ve learned a lot, but I’m enjoying my time as a small business owner and am optimistic that things will continue to grow and evolve for the rest of 2013 and beyond.

If you’ve lost track of your 2013 resolutions, or even forgotten them completely, you’re not alone. But just because a new month resolution isn’t as common as a New Year’s resolution doesn’t mean you can’t try starting something today. With the start of a new month, you have the opportunity to create a new health goal or resolution and implement it over the course of the next 31 days.

My Monthly Mission for this month is simple, I’m going to do something every day to help me improve my running while staying injury free.

I will continue on my path towards my goal of 1200 miles for 2013 (I’m at 621 right now), but for the month of July I’ll be doing something every day towards keeping me going safe and strong towards the end of the year and the completion of my goal.

Going for my regular runs won’t count, instead I’ll be focusing on other areas of my overall health and fitness that can be improved such as:

  • Flexibility
  • Balance
  • Strength Training
  • Massage
  • Prehab
  • Preventative Icing

I’ll be aiming for 20-30 minutes of one or more activities each day, with the aim being shoring up any weak areas in my body while maintaining the areas that are working well.

Right now, the smart money is on me spending a lot of time in the pool and on the yoga mat, but there will be plenty of other options that I’ll be mixing in as well.

What about you guys? How are your 2013 resolutions going? What have you got planned for your July Monthly Mission?

Let me know below!

8 Comments

Filed under Monthly Mission

8 responses to “Sweatin’ the Small Stuff–Monthly Mission July 2013

  1. I trained for 3 months for a half marathon that I completed in May, and one of the things I did as part of my training was spin class. I’m actually a spin instructor, but I found that working my leg muscles in that way really helped me when I was out on my distance runs. A participant in my class said she was training for a full, and she noticed the benefits of making the class apart of her regime as well.

    As for my goals for the year – running a half marathon was on the list, and I completed that. It felt really good to cross that one off, and now I can’t wait to do another.

    • Congrats on your half! Did you run a big race or a small one?

      I’ve never done spin classes, but I am a huge proponent of cross training. There are so many benefits to training your body in different ways that it doesn’t make sense to only focus on a single activity.

  2. By the way 621 miles in 6 months is amazing!! I love this goal. Do you have any plans to do any racing?

    • As for races, I ran a half in Tampa, FL, earlier in the year. I’m planning on a full marathon in MO in October, two halfs (on the same day!) in November, and I’m eyeballing another full in December.

      If you’re interested in following my running exploits in a bit more detail, check out my personal/running blog over at http://www.dizruns.com. I’ll be updating my pursuit of completing a marathon in every state, ad well as info/stories/recaps of races run and training plans somewhat regularly. In fact, my most recent post breaks down my running so far for 2013, as well as what’s on tap for the rest of the year. Hope you can check it out!

      Thanks for leaving the comments here! And good luck in your next half, whenever that will be!

  3. Well, I’ve been successful in leaving the house!
    Everyone has to start somewhere right?

  4. Good post. Running a business takes time and just like running, you don’t quit near the finish line. 621 miles is a long way though! Heck.

    • Thanks.

      And you have to keep doing all the little things, both in business and in running, to make sure you can keep pushing through the finish.

Leave a Reply

