What is Your Motivation?

Motivation comes in all shapes and sizes.

20130807-161756.jpg

The View Across Lake Hollingsworth

This morning, I was walking Lake Hollingsworth with a few other guys, and one of them mentioned, half jokingly, that he had tried to talk himself out of coming to the lake at least 3 times that morning. Yet he still came to the lake before work, took the time to walk around the lake, and get all hot and sweaty just to do something good for his health.

Something was obviously motivating him to get outside and move. But what?

Motivation Must Be Personal

Ultimately, it doesn’t matter what his specific motivations were to get him to meet us at the lake this morning. Because what motivates a person should be as his or her fingerprints, so what works for one person won’t work for another. Some of the reasons people use for motivation are very similar, like the general pattern types of fingerprints, but the specific reasons are 100% unique.

I have three main motivators when it comes to leading a healthy lifestyle.

  • Financial–It is much cheaper long term to live a healthy lifestyle than it is to live a non-healthy one! Healthier individuals save money on medical visits, pharmacological costs, and some recent studies suggest that healthy folks actually earn more salary from their jobs than those in poor health.
  • Family–I want to be around for a long time. I love my wife dearly, and one of these days we hope to be able to start a family. In an ideal world, I’d love to not only be able to enjoy an active relationship with my kids but with my grandkids as well. By doing my best to take care of my health now, I’m making it easier to be able to be healthy and active 40-50 years from now.
  • Professional–As a personal trainer, I want to show my clients that I can help them to improve their health and that I’m willing to practice what I preach. If I’m not doing what I’m asking my clients to do, how can I expect them to take me seriously?

Within each of these categories are dozens of specific goals and dreams that motivate me every day to keep pushing toward living a long and healthy life. Whenever I don’t feel like getting a workout in, and believe me it happens often, thinking of my specific goals that maintaining my health will help me achieve helps me to get off the couch and get after it.

What About You? Why is Good Health Important to You? What are Your Workout Motivators?

7 Comments

Filed under Lifestlye

7 responses to “What is Your Motivation?

  1. Pingback: Having a Healthy Lifestyle has Numerous Long-Term Benefits | Fitness and Health Freaks 1234 Pall Mall (519) 652-9841

  2. Pingback: How do you keep motivated? | Justcallmetuba's Blog

  3. My main motivation for running is to clear the head. We all focus on the physical benefits of running but it’s great mentally as well. Relieves stress big time I find. love it.

    • Totally agree. I used to take my iPod with me for every run I did. Now I rarely take it. Instead I’m able to think and clear my head. It’s fabulous.

  4. I would add another great motivator: leading healthy lifestyle improves quality of my life and it saved …my life.At the age of 24 I was diagnosed with rare genetic condition.6 months later I was finding difficult to walk,cycle,to keep my balance,to write and to speak. But I was keeping walking (and falling) keeping cycling (and falling) keeping working( work as physio is active) even when I was struggling to get up from bed. Many people with my condition died young,many are wheelchair bound. Ten years on and I’m back to perfect health ,stronger and fitter than most people without any health condition.“The day is what you make it! So why not make it a great one?” Steve Schulte

Leave a Reply

