Put Down the Hershey’s, & Slowly Back Away–Monthly Mission August 2013

I’m usually pretty good about limiting my food splurges.

Usually.

For the past few weeks, chocolate has been my Achilles heel. And in a big way.

chocolate

Image By $ta$o via Flickr

I recently got a big bag of chocolate chips from the store to use for a few different dessert type things, and to maybe sprinkle over my ice cream on occasion. (Ice cream is another Achilles heel, but more like tendonitis and less like the complete rupture that is my relationship with chocolate.)

Before I knew it, and in only about a week, the bag was empty and I hadn’t made any of the things I was planning on making. I was literally eating the chocolate chips by the handful, and I couldn’t stop myself.

So this month, I’m quitting cold turkey. My pantry is empty of chocolate chips, and I’m confident in my ability to pass on the chocolate syrup in the fridge. My only concern is if I’ll be able to resist my dark chocolate impulses (85% cacao bar in the fridge), but if I cave and have a piece or two of that it won’t be that big of a deal. But other than that, no chocolate, in any form, for the entirety of the month.

This month may not be the easiest of Monthly Missions, but it’ll be far from the most difficult as well. But I’m pretty sure that I’ll be enjoying something chocolate on the 1st of October!

What are you planning on doing for this month to improve your health? Please leave me a comment and let me know!

3 Comments

Filed under Monthly Mission

3 responses to “Put Down the Hershey’s, & Slowly Back Away–Monthly Mission August 2013

  1. I know that feeling: when it’s there, you eat it. My vice are bags of cashew nuts. Small and innocent looking, each one clocking in at a whopping 1,000 kcal. Yet once it’s opened, I find it very difficult to stop eating.

    • Totally feel you on cashews, or any nuts really. Can’t. Stop. Eating.

      But at least nuts have some measure of nutritional benefit, unlike the damn chocolate chips I was eating!

  2. Pingback: Monthly Mission Lookback–September 2013 | DK FitSolutions

Leave a Reply

