Are Good Personal Trainers Overpriced?

Have you ever thought of hiring a personal trainer to help you achieve your health and fitness goals, but after seeing the price tag, you backed off?

6332964795_1bf1fbfbd6

Image by allison.johnston via Flickr

I’ve had this happen to me a few times in the past week, where prospective clients balked at my rate for personal training.

After thinking about it I still believe that my rate is very fair, and with the knowledge that I have, I am confident that I am providing a huge return on the investment that my clients make when they hire me. A few of my clients have even told me that I should actually increase my rates based on the value I provide for them. It’s funny to me how some say I charge too much, while others say I don’t charge enough. Perhaps that means my rate is right where it should be.

Some of the Factors that Influence My Rate

While this list isn’t the end all be all, it does paint a little bit of a picture about some of the factors that I have had to consider before setting a price for the service that I provide.

  • Certification–I have two certifications (ATC/L, CSCS) that many personal trainers do not have, and both have continuing education requirements that I must meet every couple of years. These certifications, and the educational requirements that were required to attain them in the first place, allow me to have a more well rounded perspective than some other personal trainers have in terms of anatomy, physiology, rehabilitative exercise, and injury prevention.
  • Insurance–This one is a no brainer. I have to carry my own liability insurance, to protect both myself and my clients in case an accident were to happen.
  • Equipment–As a mobile personal trainer, I don’t spends thousands of dollars on equipment and upkeep like most gyms do. However, I still have to have some equipment to bring with me for my appointments. From time to time, I like to add a new piece or two to my arsenal, and quality equipment isn’t cheap.
  • Time (Both the session and the time spent preparing for the session)–Perhaps this is the area that is most misunderstood. When you hire a personal trainer, yes you are paying for the time that they spend working with you. But if you hire a good personal trainer, it’s also going to take them 15-20 minutes of time to create each workout for you prior to the workout taking place. Since I am writing a new workout for each client for each session, this time commitment really adds up! However, since I believe in providing quality, individualized programs for my clients, I refuse to cut corners on this issue.
  • Travel–Being mobile, I obviously have travel time and gas costs that must be accounted for.

The Right Personal Trainer is Priceless

There are many places in our lives where we are willing to pay a little more for something because of the quality that is associated with it.

A good personal trainer is worth an extra buck or two.

A good personal trainer listens to what the clients have to say, and is able to create a workout with that client in mind.

A good personal trainer doesn’t use the same workout for multiple clients, because every client is different and has different needs.

A good personal trainer will (safely!) push his or her clients to do more than they think they are capable of doing.

A good personal trainer understands that each client is unique, and therefore no two clients should be treated exactly the same way.

A good personal trainer provides a tremendous value to his or her clients.

A good personal trainer is worth every penny.

And I’m a good personal trainer.

What are your thoughts on the value of working with a personal trainer?

1 Comment

Filed under Lifestlye

One response to “Are Good Personal Trainers Overpriced?

  1. Pingback: What Makes a “Good” Personal Trainer? | DK FitSolutions

Leave a Reply

